Holding myself accountable

It was a warm night with a breeze and I was sitting with one of my good friends from high school by an empty pool; we were soaking our legs and talking about life. More like our quarter-life crisis.

pexels-photo-266686

In that moment, I was lost in deep thought. Where did the time go? What am I doing with my life? And then all of a sudden I was motivated for change.

So I’m holding myself accountable. One year from now, I’m going to be back in school and working hard to get a good degree. OR, if I decide to not go down that path, I want to save enough money to travel.

I realize that even though sometimes I feel like I’m too old and it’s too late to become successful, in reality I’m still pretty young. So I’m going to work hard and make something of myself.

Off topic, but I’ve been reminiscing about the Ed Sheeran concert (I can’t believe it will be a week ago from tomorrow) and I keep playing his performance of “Thinking out loud” in my head. In the recorded song he sings “When my hair’s gone and my memory fades, and the crowds don’t remember my name” …  but during his performance he sang “And this crowd won’t remember my name”. I thought that was so clever and genuine and it pulled at my heart strings. I don’t even know why I’m writing about it, but it’s one of those memories I’ll have until the day I die.

Have a great weekend & remember it’s okay to not be okay!

-MM

 

 

Leave a Reply

